2016 UNBUILT awards

The 2016 Unbuilt Awards have been announced! See the winning projects on our blog.

The Washington UNBUILT design Awards program has a unique role to play in supporting a vibrant intellectual discourse within the design community in the DC metro region. This program bridges the academic and professional communities by providing a forum for recognizing the contributions of both younger and established practitioners alike. Accordingly, the objective of the Awards program is to engage and recognize the broadest possible range of research, conceptual exploration and innovation in design thinking represented in the DC Metro region.

This year’s fantastic jury is made up of individuals, each of whom have a significant history of demonstrating balance between academic engagement and professional practice: 

ERIC HöWELER, AIA - Höweler + Yoon
DAVID RUBIN, ASLA, FAAR - Principal, Land Collective
GABRIEL SMITH, FAIA - Director, Thomas Phifer and Partners

Winners of this year’s competition will be featured in an exhibition at the District Architecture Center later this year.

Congratulations to our 2016 Unbuilt Awards Winners!

Honor Awards
Archotus - Sacrif(ice)
Joseph Brookover, Jr., University of Virginia - Re-Centering Delhi Cultural Transect for Independent India

Merit Awards
Gronning Architects, PLLC - Bamiyan Cultural Centre
Meditch Murphey Architects - Urban Grapevine
Landscape Architecture Bureau & FXFOWLE Architects LLP - Between Earth and Sky
E/L Studio - Arizona Avenue Residence
Thuy Do & Haomin Yang, University of Maryland, College Park - Navy Yard Waterfront Vessel
Mohamed Ismail, University of Virginia - Collecting the World (as we know it)
KUBE architecture - Woven Cultures-Peace Corps Commemorative Design

Previous Unbuilt award winners

2015 Winners

2014 Winners

2013 Winners

2012 Winners

Please note the mission statement and submission requirements for the UNBUILT awards have been revised to clarify its purpose and simplify the process. Submissions will be limited to one PDF file containing a maximum of six slides/pages each, with a file size limit that has been increased to 6 MB.